CELEBS |bio 
In.com User Rating
7 Ratings

137945 11250

Delhi Daredevils Bio

Delhi Daredevils is the Delhi franchise of the Indian Premier League in cricket. The franchise is owned by the GMR Group. Founded in 2008, the team is currently captained by Mahela Jayawardene and coached by former South African cricketer Eric Simons. They play all their home matches at the historic Feroz Shah Kotla Ground.


The Daredevils dominated for much of the 2009 IPL under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir, finishing at the top of the table after the league stages despite a mid-tournament injury to icon player Virender Sehwag. AB de Villiers and Tillakaratne Dilshan both had developed greatly since the last season and set up many large totals for the Daredevils, with de Villiers hitting one of only two centuries in the 2009 IPL. The bowling, which in 2008 was composed mainly of overseas players (Maharoof, Vettori, McGrath, Asif) was bolstered by a trade to gain former Team India paceman Ashish Nehra in exchange for Shikhar Dhawan. Pradeep Sangwan and Amit Mishra had both improved since last season, and the offseason signing of Dirk Nannes from Australia created a bowling lineup that was strong. In fact, the Daredevils left the likes of Vettori, Collingwood and McGrath on the bench for most of the tournament, preferring to go with the overseas combination of Nannes, de Villiers, Dilshan and David Warner.

Scorecard | Sun 26 Oct


Pakistan vs Australia Test

Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai ,10/22/2014, 11:30 (IST)

Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe Test

Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur ,10/25/2014, 09:00 (IST)


Pakistan vs Australia ODI

Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi ,10/12/2014, 16:30 (IST)

Australia beat Pakistan by 1 run

India vs West Indies ODI

Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala ,10/17/2014, 14:30 (IST)

India beat West Indies by 59 runs