How many times it has happened that you have sent a message by mistake to your boss? Or your girl friend? Or to your parents. We always prayed that there should be some way to delete those sent messages. Congratulations! You can now delete messages for everyone or just for yourself.
WhatsApp has finally rolled out its long awaited 'Delete for Everyone' feature. This allows the users to delete their sent messages, in case they were sent to a wrong person or a group. But, there is a catch here. You can only delete messages for up to seven minutes after sending. Once the period is over, there’s no way to delete those messages ever. WhatsApp was working on this feature for almost a year.
Facebook-owned WhatsApp in its updated FAQ on Friday said, "In order for messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, both you and your recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone."
"Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake," WhatsApp added.
Messages successfully deleted will be replaced with "This message was deleted" phrase. So, if you see that phrase in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.This feature is being slowly rolled out and users can reinstall WhatsApp in order to download the latest configuration from the server. As of now, the feature works for messages in text, videos, GIFs, pictures, voice messages, quoted messages and status replies.