Anyone who follows cricket will tell you that runs matter. Even if it is a single. They all count. On January 15, when India clashed against Australia at the Adelaide Oval, there was much at stake. India was behind by a game and the hosts had put up a big total. Chasing was not going to be easy. After a flying start by Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma, it was Virat Kohli's match-winning century and MS Dhoni’s resilient batting that helped us win. However, a social media post suggested that towards the end of the match, MSD had failed to complete a run. Yet it was awarded to India.
The incident happened when India needed 45 runs off 31 balls. The clip suggests that Dhoni took a single, but didn’t complete it i.e. he did not cross the crease at the non-striker’s end. The run was awarded to Dhoni and India. The incident went unnoticed by the umpires as well as the Australian players. In cricket, both batsmen have to cross the crease at their respective ends for a run to be counted. By not crossing the crease, Dhoni not only didn’t complete the run, but he also endangered his wicket, because if a fielder had hit the stumps, he’d have to leave. Lucky escape, no doubt.
Dhoni returned to international cricket after a long break. While many doubted his abilities, he proved them wrong by pulling a rabbit out of his hat – like he usually does. India won the match, leveling the series. The decider will be played on January 18.Read More